Get a Report

For GRAMA requests, please submit the form at this link to:

Cathy Bonde
Administrator
45 South 100 East
Moab, Utah 84532
Phone: 435-259-5557

Email: admin@moabfiredepartment.org

Take a Tour

Moab Valley Fire Department is open 8-5 PM Monday through Friday. We welcome and encourage visitors.

Get a Burn Permit

For burn permit applications please visit the DEQ Air Quality website or contact:

Bruce Jenkins
Grand County Fire Warden
1165 South Highway 191
Moab, Utah 84532
Phone: 435-220-0179

In Kind Fuel Mitigation Log

Moab Fire Department appreciates your help in controlling hazardous fuels that could threaten the valley in the event of fire.  By reporting the time you spend creating defensible space around your property, the State of Utah credits the District, helpng cover the cost of future fires. Click the link below for a copy of the form that can be returned to the Fire Department 45 S 100 E, or emailed to admin@moabfiredepartment:

Hazardous Fuels Mitigation Form

Thank you for helping us keep our community safe!

Risk Management

Utah State Auditor Fraud Hotline:

801-538-9777

If you as an employee or volunteer of Moab Valley Fire Protection District or as a  citizen feel that you have seen improper governmental activities, you have the right to file an anonymous complaint. The Utah State Auditor has created a hotline program for you to file your complaint and  allows the process to be  anonymous.

The Utah State Auditor’s office investigates claims of:  Waste or Misuse of Public Funds, Property, or Manpower; Violations of a Law, Rule, or Regulation applicable to the government; Gross Mismanagement; Abuse of Authority; and Unethical Conduct.

For more information on the the hotline process, what information and data that needs to be provided, and how to file an anonymous complaint, please visit: Utah Office of the State Auditor- Fraud Hotline 

Request an Inspection

Moab Valley Fire Department provides inspection services for:

  • Life Safety
  • Day Care
  • Food Trucks
  • Firework Stands
  • Business Licenses

For more information or to schedule an inspection, contact:

Brandon Mcguffee
Fire Inspector
45 South 100 East
Moab, UT  84532

bmcguffee@moabfiredepartment.org

435-260-8039

Fire District Fee Schedule

Moab Valley Fire Protection District's Fee Schedule

Inspections

Fees

Inspections for Commercial or Residential properties (minimum charge—one hour)
$115.00 per hour
Inspections outside of normal business hours (minimum charge—two hours)
$115.00 per hour
1st Re-inspection
Included in initial inspection
2nd Re-inspection
$115.00 per hour
Annual Food Truck Inspection
$65.00 per hour + $15.00 Annual inspection tag fee
Annual and/or Routine risk assessment/ Life Safety Inspections For all commercial or short-term rental residential properties (minimum charge—one hour)
$115.00 per hour/pre-permit

Special Event Review/Risk Assessment

Fees

Special Event applications will require a review. May include one fire and life safety inspection of business and property
Minimum of $65.00 per hour + $65.00 each additional hour

Residential Fire Plan Review

Fees

Non-refundable residential fire plan review deposit (for new construction only)
$230.00 per permit (up to 2 hrs.)
Residential fire plan review over and beyond deposit and any additional plan reviews required due to changes, corrections, additions, deferred submittals, and/or revisions to plans (minimum charge - one hour)
$115.00 per hour

Commercial Fire Plan Review

Fees

Non-refundable commercial fire plan deposit for initial plan review only for new construction, tenant finish, and/or major remodel
$460.00 per permit
Commercial fire plan review over and beyond deposit and additional plan review required due to changes, corrections, additions and/or revisions to plans (minimum charge - one hour)
$115.00 per hour
Non-Refundable Deferred submittal for portion of plan, prior approval by Fire Inspector required
$230.00 per submittal
Outside consultation for plan checking and special inspections
Actual costs / fees associated for outside consultation

Automatic Fire Sprinkler System Plan Review

Fees

Less than 100 Sprinkler Heads
$250.00
Additional Sprinkler heads over 100
$.75 per sprinkler head
Additional Fire Riser System
$115.00 per System

Fire Alarm System

Fees

Plan Review-New Construction (per Building)
$230.00
Plan Review- Remodel
$200.00
Inspection and Acceptance test (pre-system)
$115.00 per hour

Business License Review

Fees

Business license approval - may include one fire and life safety inspection of business and/or property
$115.00 per hour

Rental of MVFD Property

Fees

Meeting room (regular business hours 8 AM to 5 PM, Monday-Friday)
Refundable cleaning deposit required: $100.00Must be approved by Chief
Commissioners meeting room (regular business hours 8 AM to 5 PM, Monday-Friday)
Refundable cleaning deposit required: $100.00. Must be approved by Chief
Non-emergency fire apparatus use
$550.00 per Apparatus(2 personnel included) $115.00 per Firefighter(additional personnel) See Engine & Vehicle mileage rates for Out of District, if they apply
Dive Team
$350.00 Call Out/Mobilization Fee, $250.00 per diver per hour (2 hour minimum)

Fire Extinguisher Training

Fees

Fire Extinguisher Training will include: At least one Instructor, fire prop and propane, lesson plan, safety glasses, and gloves.
$300.00 up to 20 people, plus $150.00 for up to 10 additional people
Your agency is responsible for providing Fire Extinguishers for use by the students during training.
A minimum of 1 2A-20-BC fire extinguisher per 3 students will be needed.

False Alarm Calls - Residential and Commercial

Fees

1st false alarm in a 12-month period
No fee
2nd false alarm in a 12-month period
No fee
3rd false alarm in a 12-month period
Warning letter sent
4th false alarm and all subsequent calls in a 12-month period
$250.00

Negligence / Nuisance Calls

Fees

1st negligence / nuisance call in a 12-month period
May be sent a warning letter
2nd negligence / nuisance call in a 12-month period (and all subsequent calls in a 12-month period)
May be billed a Fire Department standby and safety fee of:$250.00 per unit/apparatus + $115.00 per firefighter/inspector for each call